Current Temperature


October 16, 2021 October 16, 2021

Minor hockey celebrates the season that was

Posted on April 4, 2019 by Taber Times
HOCKEY HARDWARE: With the end of the minor hockey season, Taber Minor Hockey honoured several of their best at their annual year-end banquet held at the Taber Community Centre late last month. TIMES PHOTO BY COLE PARKINSON

Taber Minor Hockey Association held its year-end awards banquet early last week at the Taber Community Centre Auditorium.
The following is the full list of winners as submitted by the hockey association:

“Gordon Hacking Memorial Award” – Brian Planger
Sponsored by Taber Ladies Auxiliary

“Frank Koncz Manager of the Year Memorial Award” – Catherine Kerkhoff
Sponsored by Margaret Koncz

Coach of the Year Award. – Jim Eldridge

Most Promising Official – Spencer Phillips


The “Lewis Tudor Memorial Atom CAHL MVP Award” – Chase Stronge
Sponsored by Bob and Sharon Bassett

Most Dedicated – Avery Remfert

Most Improved – Heston Hansen

Most Sportsmanlike – Carter Kerkhoff


“Jean Bowman Memorial Award” PW Player’s Player – Sam Tolsma
Sponsored by the Bowman Family

Best Defenseman Award – Hayden Span

MVP Award – Kellen Lauwen

Most Improved – Blake Rabusic

Most Dedicated – Ryan Gray

Most Sportsmanlike – Rex Bell


Most Sportsmanlike – Jared Huvenaars

Most Improved – Evan Friesen

Most Dedicated – Chase Plumb

“E.E. ‘Butch’ O’Donnell MVP Memorial Award – Connor Eldridge
Sponsored by the O’Donnell Family

Best Bantam Defenceman Award – Ashton Lukacs
In memory of Brett Forchuk. Sponsored by the Forchuk Family.


Most Dedicated – Dawson Hendricks

“Cliff Passey Most Improved Player Award” – Nolan Tams
Sponsored by the Passey Family

“Les & Molly Marriot Most Sportsmanlike Memorial Award” – Jack Murphy

“Perry Brandics Best Defenceman Award” – Braxton Kinniburgh
Sponsored by Marge Brandics and Family

“Bruce Wills Scholastic Achievement and Hockey Proficiency Memorial Award” – Brylan Span

“Freda’s Trailer Court Midget MVP Award” – Spencer Phillips
Sponsored by Freda’s Trailer Court

“Tessa Sparks Memorial Award” – Nixen Miller
Sponsored by the Randy Sparks Family.

Leave a Reply

Get More The Taber Times
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe

Support Local Newspapers

We are committed to providing local journalism to cover the things important to you an you're neighbours. Our paper depends on the revenue we get from advertising. We have noticed that you are currently running an Ad Blocker, please consider "White Lising" our site to help support your local Newspaper.